Page 1 of 1

How to wire strain gauge directly into SVIM

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 7:57 pm
by oz_olly
I have an upcoming project where I would like to wire a full bridge strain gauge installation (for axial strain) into the SVIM and use the internal amplification capability. From looking at the SVIM spec sheet and ACL help, as far as I understand I can have an excitation voltage of either 5V or 10V and wire the bridge measurement points into differential voltage inputs. Can you let me know whether or not my understanding is correct?

What do I have to do to ensure that my reading does not go outside the common mode voltage range?

Cheers

Michael Olsen

Re: How to wire strain gauge directly into SVIM

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2018 5:41 am
by DarkHelmet
I'm bumping this back up as I had the exact same question- to the OP did you ever try this out?

Re: How to wire strain gauge directly into SVIM

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2018 8:58 am
by adrian
The method stated by the OP is the correct way of wiring a bridge strain gauge into an SVIM. When you configure the input pin in the software you have to make sure the voltage range (and hence resolution) is set appropriately depending on the voltage range of the bridge.