MOTEC PDM30 few questions.

Discussion and support for MoTeC Power Distribution Modules

MOTEC PDM30 few questions.

Postby ervinas26 on Mon Apr 20, 2020 9:40 pm

Hello, few questions about PDM30 configuration.

1.In PDM30 are two 0V outputs. Can I from one 0V output channel make four channels? See example.
2.Key pad buttons. Can we explain button functions? Pulse/Hysteresis/Flash/Toggle. How to make push button function (horn/starter), simple on/off function and three functions on one button (heater 1/2/3 stages).

Thank you, and sorry for stupid questions. :oops:
Attachments
ov.png
ov.png (5.3 KiB) Viewed 3363 times
ervinas26
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 9:41 pm

Re: MOTEC PDM30 few questions.

Postby David Ferguson on Tue Apr 21, 2020 1:58 am

The 0V pins are not outputs. They are the signal 0V reference used for the switch inputs. You connect one side of a switch to the 0V (yes you splice all the switches together), and connect the other side of the switch to the specific input pin.

The keypad is connected over the CAN bus, and configured using the MoTeC PDM Manager software.

I suggest you watch all the PDM webinars found here:

https://www.motec.com.au/webinars-view/ ... chive/#PDM

Post specific questions once you've dived into your configuration.
David Ferguson
Veracity Racing Data
Check out Shift RPM - https://shiftrpm.veracitydata.com
David Ferguson
Pro User
 
Posts: 800
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 1:45 am
Location: Paso Robles, California

Re: MOTEC PDM30 few questions.

Postby ervinas26 on Tue Apr 21, 2020 3:57 pm

Yes, thank you. Yes I know that OV not output, I had in my mind about contacts splice. It okay. First question is done :)

Yes, I watched a webinar and read a user manual. I know and understand that keypad managed by CAN. I am confused with keypad buttons configuration. I don't understand how to configure simple on/of, three stages button and push button (when button is pressed is on when release is off).
Also one function I thinked yesterday, when you activate starter, how to make X contact? Like in road car. Thanks
ervinas26
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 9:41 pm

Re: MOTEC PDM30 few questions.

Postby SDean on Tue Apr 21, 2020 5:06 pm

Hi,

The Keypad buttons as purely momentary switches, they have no latching functionality.

Where this is controlled is in the PDM itself, using Function and Output controls to use the button presses and convert them into Toggling switches, or having the button press trigger a number of other functions, that are also dependant on other Inputs as to where they function or not.

As an example, you can have a button that engages the starter motor, but you may have modifiers in place that also have to be met for this to happen, such as the gearbox has to be in Neutral, the Clutch and Brake pedals must be depressed and the Engine must not be turning. This then maintains the starter motor operation until any of these conditions are no longer being met, or the timer that you set times out as the engine hasn't started in that time.
Stephen Dean
MoTeC Research Centre Melbourne, Australia
User avatar
SDean
Site Admin
 
Posts: 747
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 9:29 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: MOTEC PDM30 few questions.

Postby David Ferguson on Tue Apr 21, 2020 5:32 pm

Here is a sample PDM configuration I created that configures a keypad, and has example of Momentary, Switched, and 3-position Setting usage.

The Switched is configured for an Ignition, and enables one of the 20A outputs. One of the LEDs is acive when the switch is on, and one when there is a fault condition

The Momentary is configured for a starter (simple, no other conditions as described above), that uses one of the 8A outputs. One of the LEDs is enabled while the starter is active.

Finally the 3-position setting is configured for a Mode setting. The result of that setting is used to set LEDs on the keypad, as well as transmit that over the CAN bus.

Hopefully this example will get you going.

My file attachment isn't working ... check back later...
David Ferguson
Veracity Racing Data
Check out Shift RPM - https://shiftrpm.veracitydata.com
David Ferguson
Pro User
 
Posts: 800
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 1:45 am
Location: Paso Robles, California

Re: MOTEC PDM30 few questions.

Postby ervinas26 on Wed Apr 22, 2020 3:36 pm

Hello,

I tried make few keypad functions. Starter motor (when press and hold starter will turn engine), and ignition on when push - ecu voltage on 3 channels.
Can you see or it's ok?
Input pins: https://ibb.co/T06hvKy
Output pins: https://ibb.co/vm6DrBV
Keypad: https://ibb.co/LZYbyJJ
ervinas26
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 9:41 pm

Re: MOTEC PDM30 few questions.

Postby SDean on Wed Apr 22, 2020 4:18 pm

Hi,

I would be careful when wiring the power for the keypad from one of the PDM outputs, I have seen to many configurations done that have the Keypad power switched on using a key press from the Keypad...

Does the Oil Temp Sensor need to be powered off the PDM, that should be run through the ECU or Dash.
Stephen Dean
MoTeC Research Centre Melbourne, Australia
User avatar
SDean
Site Admin
 
Posts: 747
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 9:29 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: MOTEC PDM30 few questions.

Postby adrian on Wed Apr 22, 2020 4:52 pm

There is a few things you can do to tidy that config up. I have uploaded an example here.

Firstly, there is a 'master shutdown' function built in, that way you can set a single condition at one point and then all you have to do is tick the box in each output you want to be controlled by it. It saves writing the same condition over and over for every output.

The same goes for the ignition, you can create a function which is toggled by the ignition switch. You then use that function in your outputs. The way you have done it will work fine, this just makes it a bit easier and if you ever want to change how it works you only have to do it in one place rather than every output.

The starter function you can make quite simple or really complicated with auto restart and all sorts of things. To keep it simple you can make it so that it will only crank if the ignition is on and the engine isn't already running. My example has Engine Speed coming across on CAN and I am using that value to determine if the engine is running (ie greater than 60 which in this case represents 600RPM).
When you hold down the starter button the engine will crank as long as the master switch and ignition are on and the engine isn't running. As soon as the engine goes over 600rpm (should be more than cranking, less than idle) then the starter will stop. You can of course stop cranking any time by releasing the button.
adrian
MoTeC
 
Posts: 589
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 4:16 pm

Re: MOTEC PDM30 few questions.

Postby ervinas26 on Wed Apr 22, 2020 5:04 pm

Thank you guys :) I will check your examples in the evening :)
ervinas26
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 9:41 pm


Return to PDM15 PDM16 PDM30 and PDM32

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron