Page 1 of 1

Outlap lap1 lap2 bugging me

PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2020 7:58 pm
by Learner
Hello,

I'm trying to learn how to read telemetry and how it can help setup my car on the iRacing service using MoTeC i2.

1/ I'm looking for some help to fix the following situation after I recorded telemetry for a race on the Okayama Full Course circuit (see picture1) :
- Outlap shows time spent waiting on the grid waiting for the green light and launch until I reach an unknown marker (?)
- Lap 1 shows time between this unknown marker (?) and the start/finish line
- Lap 2 starts as I cross the start/finish line
- Lap count is thus incorrect (1 more lap counted than what was achieved in reality)

2/ Moreover, if I select "Outlap" or "Lap 1" in the data panel on the left, then end/beginning of Lap 2, 3, 4, ... are all shifted forward on the track representation (see picture2)

I don't blame this on MoTeC i2, maybe this has to do with the telemetry recording software.
Anyway, I have only control on MoTeC so I was wondering if it could help solving this issue.

These are the solutions I imagine would resolve the 2 cases above :
Regarding 1/ : is there a possibility from within MoTeC to merge Outlap and Lap 1 together ?
=> Outlap would end at the first crossing of the start/finish line
=> Lap 2 would become Lap 1
=> no more erroneous lap count

Regarding 2/ : with 1/ fixed, is there a way to offset the data backward (I looked into offsets but couldn't figure it out) so that when I select Outlap in the data panel, the following laps correctly start on the start/finish line ?

This is no big issue but it's bugging me :( :D

Thanks for your help !

Picture 1
picture1.png
Picture 1
picture1.png (194.44 KiB) Viewed 2568 times


Picture 2
picture2.png
Picture 2
picture2.png (194.45 KiB) Viewed 2568 times

Re: Outlap lap1 lap2 bugging me

PostPosted: Wed Mar 18, 2020 7:25 am
by David Ferguson
You can delete lap markers in I2 using Tools->Edit Laps...

Re: Outlap lap1 lap2 bugging me

PostPosted: Wed Mar 18, 2020 7:13 pm
by Learner
Thank you very much,

I could remove Lap 1 and it got merged with the Outlap !

I still have the issue that Out Lap is offset, starting at the start/finish line and ending 83 meters later while it should start 83meters behind the start/finish line and end at the start/finish line. (see picture 3)
If I select Lap 1, 2, 3 ..., they start and end correctly at the start/finish line.

I tried every combination in the Offset menu (select Out Lap in the Data panel > Right Click > Set Offset) :
- Offset type : absolute/relative to start of Out Lap
- Offset amount Time/Distance (positive and negative)

Do you have any idea ?
I started looking into the Help menu with no success so far either, looking for "Offset".

Thank you !

picture3.png
Picture 3
picture3.png (141.77 KiB) Viewed 2515 times

Re: Outlap lap1 lap2 bugging me

PostPosted: Thu Mar 19, 2020 2:37 am
by David Ferguson
Did you try deleting lap2, so it was merged with Lap1...

Re: Outlap lap1 lap2 bugging me

PostPosted: Thu Mar 19, 2020 10:59 pm
by Learner
Thanks but the problem still persists, nevermind I'll live with it.

Thanks for helping !

Re: Outlap lap1 lap2 bugging me

PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2020 11:07 am
by adrian
Ok, because you aren't using a MoTeC product I can't tell you how to actually fix it. But I can give you some general information on how i2 works.

i2 doesn't have 'laps' as such, it has beacons. The laps are then calculated between the beacons. Adding or removing beacons causes the laps to be recalculated.

If you go to Tools>Lap Editor you can add and remove beacons. You can also offset all of them by a certain distance so that it matches the start finish line. This feature is for when you are unable to put your lap beacon on the start finish line for whatever reason and you position it (say) 20m down the track. Every lap beacon will be out by 20m and this function fixes that. Offsetting beacons individually doesn't make any practical sense because the beacon won't move throughout a session and if you get a false beacon you would delete it.

Re: Outlap lap1 lap2 bugging me

PostPosted: Sat Mar 21, 2020 4:11 am
by Learner
Thanks for the insight

The "problem" being that the Out Lap start at "SOL" and ends at BCN[2,id=99] which is the beacon where all laps start and end.

I'd like to tell i2 that "SOL" is 84 meters behind but I don't know if/how

Anyhow, not a big deal, at least I got rid of my "Lap 1" :D