Math Editor decimal points

Discussion and support for i2 Standard and i2 Pro applications

Math Editor decimal points

Postby Michael on Thu Mar 03, 2022 6:16 pm

The recently released version of i2 Pro (1.1.5.0085) still has the problem that decimal points in non english languages are not read correctly. My computer is in german. When I type formulas I need to use a point "." as a decimal separator. In the constants editor I must use a comma "," as a point is ignored. But then the interpretation is not done correctly. I2 does not read the value after the comma. Example:

The results of
Code: Select all
channel * 1.5
and
Code: Select all
channel * CONSTANT
whereas "CONSTANT is 1,5" are not the same.

The result of
Code: Select all
channel * CONSTANT
is equal to
Code: Select all
channel * 1.0


Besides that it is not very intuitive to use two different decimal separators in the channel editor and the constants editor!
Michael
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2022 11:43 pm

Re: Math Editor decimal points

Postby Michael on Tue Jul 05, 2022 12:59 am

The recently release Beta (i2 Pro V1.1.5.0127 Beta) still has the same problem. Will this be fixed sometime?
Michael
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2022 11:43 pm

Re: Math Editor decimal points

Postby NathanB on Tue Jul 05, 2022 12:03 pm

Hi Michael,

Unfortunately in this particular instance of the language decimal separator issue will not be fixed, as it is embedded in the math engine itself.

Unlike other instances like PDM where due to the script being auto populated apart from the channel values themselves in i2, the script is looking for specific symbols for the expressions and therefore cannot be changed without rewriting the entire maths script for i2.

Maths logic.jpg
Maths logic.jpg (64.91 KiB) Viewed 668 times


This may change down the line, but at this stage, the only way maths can function is with a period for the decimal separator and commas used for the end of expressions.
NathanB
MoTeC
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2020 12:50 pm

Re: Math Editor decimal points

Postby Michael on Tue Jul 05, 2022 4:10 pm

Hi Nathan,

thanks for your update. Are you aware that with not fixing this issue, i2 is not useable anymore on computers that use a comma as a decimal separator (most european languages)! The calculations are simply not correct if you want to use constants because the "," is not used correctly. I don't really understand why you don't simply change it back to use "." again like in previous versions.
Michael
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2022 11:43 pm

Re: Math Editor decimal points

Postby NathanB on Wed Jul 06, 2022 9:44 am

Hi Michael,

I will start off with my sincerest apologies on this. In my initial inability to reproduce the issue and discussion with one of the software engineers I missed the specificity of the problem you were experiencing.

After your email to Gareth, and some further testing from him I have now been able to understand reproduce the problem for myself and for the software team.

This issue will be investigated and fixed before .127 becomes a release.

I was able to work around the issue and get a "." to be accepted and entered in the constants by changing the keyboard setting to an english keyboard.

Screenshot (61).png
Screenshot (61).png (1.57 MiB) Viewed 620 times


I understand this is not an ideal solution, and has other complications, but it is the only workaround I have to offer at this stage until a fix is implemented. You can Switch between keyboard layouts relatively quickly using the 'windows' + 'space bar' keys provided you have the additional keyboards available.
NathanB
MoTeC
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2020 12:50 pm

Re: Math Editor decimal points

Postby Michael on Wed Jul 06, 2022 5:10 pm

Hi Nathan,

thanks for the info! I can confirm that changing to an english keyboard layout is working! That's already something.
Michael
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2022 11:43 pm


Return to i2 Data Analysis Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests