GPS Beacon issue ADL2

Information about using GPS units with motec devices

GPS Beacon issue ADL2

Postby Robin Poenisch on Tue Jul 12, 2011 7:23 pm

Hey,

I have a GPS-System running on ADL2. Working fine so far. Wanted to try the GPS-Beacon feature and did not get it to work.
GPS lat/long values I have taken from logged data and inserted the values as beacon position in the ADL2 config. Then checked it with the "online->view->GPS-beacon-definitions" feature and everything was correct. But I didn't get a beacon when I passed this point. Even when I tried different "detection radius" values (5m -> 25m).

When I open the logged data in i2Pro and use the "auto-insert beacon by GPS " function and use the same coordinates that I entered in the ADL2 config, i2Pro automatically inserts the beacon absolutely correct.

GPS track map and everything else works fine. Just the beacon makes trouble. Any ideas?

DM V4.51i

cheers,
Robin

PS: just read that you need at least a 5Hz system for the beacon function. My GPS only has 4Hz, is this really the problem?
Robin Poenisch Motorsport
Engineering Services
Electronic Systems

http://www.facebook.com/Poenisch.Motorsport
http://www.poenisch-motorsport.de
Robin Poenisch
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Weinstadt/Germany

Re: GPS Beacon issue ADL2

Postby IDP on Wed Jul 13, 2011 8:24 am

I believe the GPS information must be on RS232. are you using CAN?
IDP
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 10:30 pm

Re: GPS Beacon issue ADL2

Postby Robin Poenisch on Sat Jul 16, 2011 8:28 pm

GPS is connected over RS232
Robin Poenisch Motorsport
Engineering Services
Electronic Systems

http://www.facebook.com/Poenisch.Motorsport
http://www.poenisch-motorsport.de
Robin Poenisch
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Weinstadt/Germany

Re: GPS Beacon issue ADL2

Postby David Ferguson on Tue Jul 19, 2011 7:32 am

Using Motec ADL2 Dash Manager, did you setup the Functions->Lap Time & Number to use GPS as the source of the beacon?
David Ferguson
Pro User
 
Posts: 809
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 1:45 am
Location: Paso Robles, California

Re: GPS Beacon issue ADL2

Postby Robin Poenisch on Tue Jul 19, 2011 8:45 pm

yes, I did
Robin Poenisch Motorsport
Engineering Services
Electronic Systems

http://www.facebook.com/Poenisch.Motorsport
http://www.poenisch-motorsport.de
Robin Poenisch
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Weinstadt/Germany

Re: GPS Beacon issue ADL2

Postby JamieA on Thu Jul 21, 2011 4:46 pm

yes, we have a minimum GPS update rate to ensure lap time accuracy.

5hz minimum.
JamieA
 
Posts: 454
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 2:16 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: GPS Beacon issue ADL2

Postby thorstengsxr on Fri Aug 19, 2011 5:55 pm

Hi

Did you use german language settings?
If the answer is yes you have a problem with ., change
please select english number format.

regards Thorsten
thorstengsxr
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:00 pm

Re: GPS Beacon issue ADL2

Postby Robin Poenisch on Tue Nov 08, 2011 11:19 pm

Hey,

now using a 20Hz GPS unit (blackline fuel gps) and still having the same issue! tried many different beacon coordinates and tried detection radius up to 30metres. Never got a single beacon.

I know the problem with the language settings, but if the settings are incorrect, DashManager won't even accept the coordinates or save them. But that works.

regards
Robin
Robin Poenisch Motorsport
Engineering Services
Electronic Systems

http://www.facebook.com/Poenisch.Motorsport
http://www.poenisch-motorsport.de
Robin Poenisch
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Weinstadt/Germany

Re: GPS Beacon issue ADL2

Postby Robin Poenisch on Wed May 02, 2012 5:12 pm

no more ideas on that issue??
Robin Poenisch Motorsport
Engineering Services
Electronic Systems

http://www.facebook.com/Poenisch.Motorsport
http://www.poenisch-motorsport.de
Robin Poenisch
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Weinstadt/Germany

Re: GPS Beacon issue ADL2

Postby Robin Poenisch on Thu May 03, 2012 5:32 am

could someone please supply me a working ADL config file, so that I can check whats wrong with my system?!

thanks
Robin Poenisch Motorsport
Engineering Services
Electronic Systems

http://www.facebook.com/Poenisch.Motorsport
http://www.poenisch-motorsport.de
Robin Poenisch
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Weinstadt/Germany

Next

Return to GPS Information

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest