Crank sync captures

Discussion and support for MoTeC's new entry level ECUs

Crank sync captures

Postby Rickybobby on Mon Jan 20, 2020 2:06 am

My car wont run correctly
Its looks to me like the crank sensor is giving a incorrect signal
It is a rotary so it has no cam to sync
I dont know what I am looking at but it dont look correct to me
Its a 60-2 trigger wheel with a hall sensor
Look like its seeing more than one trigger to me
And it has only 5.2 volts when the ECU is feeding it 8v
I lost with it now
Attachments
20200119_151349.jpg
20200119_151349.jpg (2.84 MiB) Viewed 3232 times
Rickybobby
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2019 8:21 am

Re: Crank sync captures

Postby AdamW on Mon Jan 20, 2020 6:19 pm

One of your other posts suggests the engine is running. Is it running or not? Your ref/sync capture looks like only a partial capture, can you try again and attach the actual file rather than a screenshot. Can you attach the cal as well.

What makes you think you have a trigger problem? Are you getting stable RPM? Are you using ref/sync mode 8?
Motorsport Electronics Ltd.
AdamW
Pro User
 
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 9:08 am

Re: Crank sync captures

Postby Rickybobby on Sun Feb 09, 2020 2:00 am

I have had the vehicle running but its not running well barley at all
I have a after market trigger wheel that I think is a issue
It was 60-2 on a hall sensor
I changed it to a 30-1 now more space between the teeth
The ecu setting have been changed
And it engine run slightly better and trigger capture was better you could clearly see it was working
I change the hall/ crank sensor for a new one and it how does not run or give me any information on the sync capture
The timing light is still plugged in so i can see it firing and the rpm is working on crank but no
Nothing under sync captures
Starting to regret buying a notec
Rickybobby
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2019 8:21 am

Re: Crank sync captures

Postby Rickybobby on Sun Feb 09, 2020 5:29 am

My base map

Non start now ignition working and RPM but No signal when I do sync capture with old or new crank sensor
8 Volts at senor plug / signal ok to ecu and sensor earth is ok

also a sync capture of the 30-1 trigger wheel when it was running (poorly)with old crank hall sensor
sync setup now 6 one tooth missing every cycle
air gap 1.5mm
Attachments
1.rsc2
(64.45 KiB) Downloaded 124 times
Mazda RX7 Dustin Webb Start File latest.m84-12
(72 KiB) Downloaded 135 times
Rickybobby
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2019 8:21 am

Re: Crank sync captures

Postby SDean on Mon Feb 10, 2020 1:23 pm

Hi Ricky,

Apologies for the delay in response, the site admin work that I do on here as well gets counted as a visit, so I miss posted topics due to this. If you need a quick response and haven't gotten one, then please email support @ motec.com.au.
Stephen Dean
MoTeC Research Centre Melbourne, Australia
User avatar
SDean
Site Admin
 
Posts: 745
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 9:29 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: Crank sync captures

Postby SDean on Mon Feb 10, 2020 2:08 pm

I have had a look through the files attached and for the most part the settings look ok, other than the -50% fuel trim and the Fuel Injection Timing starting at 50, when 300 is a typical.
Stephen Dean
MoTeC Research Centre Melbourne, Australia
User avatar
SDean
Site Admin
 
Posts: 745
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 9:29 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: Crank sync captures

Postby Rickybobby on Fri Feb 14, 2020 8:20 am

Still having issues with the sync capture
Can someone confirm the sync capture works under cracking
Or does it only work when engine is running
Thanks
Rickybobby
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2019 8:21 am

Re: Crank sync captures

Postby SDean on Fri Feb 14, 2020 8:31 am

Hi Ricky,

The Ref/Sync Capture function works whenever a crank signal is detected, this can be at cranking speeds, or 20,000 rpm.
Stephen Dean
MoTeC Research Centre Melbourne, Australia
User avatar
SDean
Site Admin
 
Posts: 745
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 9:29 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: Crank sync captures

Postby gkwestfrank on Sat Feb 15, 2020 5:12 pm

i dont see any problem with your ref/sync capture, it reads exactly 29 teeth every cycle, and there is no sync because no sync sensor like you said there is no cam sensor with your rotary setup. so the starting problem must your fueling or your lack of knowledge of how engine work under electronic. or try to represent yourself a little better, i am sure everyone here have a hard time to understand your problem. and oh btw, saying regret getting a motec on a motec forum is not going to get you anywhere, coz YOU have the problem, we don't.
gkwestfrank
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 7:03 pm


Return to M84 ECUs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests