M150 with flex fuel sensor measuring fuel temp

Discussion and Support for MoTeC's M1 series ECUs

M150 with flex fuel sensor measuring fuel temp

Postby XSESIV on Mon Aug 03, 2015 12:38 pm

Has anyone configured an M150 to log both ethanol content and fuel temp from a flex fuel sensor?

I'm using the smaller GM 13577379 flex fuel sensor and can see the ethanol content fine however I can't work out how to also get the fuel temp using pulse width. Using Universal Digital Input 11, can both ethanol content (hz) and fuel temp (pulse width) be setup on the same digital input or does the flex sensor need to be wired to two digital inputs to make this work?
XSESIV
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 12:32 pm

Re: M150 with flex fuel sensor measuring fuel temp

Postby AndrewD on Wed Aug 12, 2015 9:13 am

The July 2015 "GP" packages (currently beta) support simultaneously using both frequency and duty cycle from digital sensors.
MoTeC Research Centre
Melbourne, Australia
User avatar
AndrewD
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2013 12:34 pm

Re: M150 with flex fuel sensor measuring fuel temp

Postby greenamex2 on Wed Aug 12, 2015 5:56 pm

AndrewD wrote:The July 2015 "GP" packages (currently beta) support simultaneously using both frequency and duty cycle from digital sensors.


You have no idea how happy I am to hear this!
Motec CDL3+M130+LTCD+MDD+PDM15
Nissan VQ30DE fitted to an AM Sportscars EX2 with a Hewland HP 2000
greenamex2
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 6:06 am
Location: England

Re: M150 with flex fuel sensor measuring fuel temp

Postby tepid1 on Wed Aug 19, 2015 2:01 am

denis bassom wrote:
AndrewD wrote:The July 2015 "GP" packages (currently beta) support simultaneously using both frequency and duty cycle from digital sensors.


You have no idea how happy I am to hear this!


x2!

When is a public release going to happen?
tepid1
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 12:49 am

Re: M150 with flex fuel sensor measuring fuel temp

Postby Scott@FP on Thu Aug 20, 2015 4:22 am

There's no reason you couldn't loop the input to a 2nd digital input and measure fuel temp there, using the period or PW, for most of the GM sensors 1000uS low = -40C, 5000uS = 125C.
Scott@FP
 
Posts: 420
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 6:57 pm

Re: M150 with flex fuel sensor measuring fuel temp

Postby 01-0041 on Wed Dec 30, 2015 12:02 pm

AndrewD wrote:The July 2015 "GP" packages (currently beta) support simultaneously using both frequency and duty cycle from digital sensors.


Could someone post a screen shot of their Flex Fuel Sensor setup? I'm having difficulty locating it in the July 2015 "GP" package.

-

Trever
01-0041
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 8:04 am
Location: Pacific Northwest

Re: M150 with flex fuel sensor measuring fuel temp

Postby Ben-S on Sun Jan 03, 2016 3:31 pm

Could someone post a screen shot of their Flex Fuel Sensor setup? I'm having difficulty locating it in the July 2015 "GP" package.

-

Trever


I don't believe any of the supplied packages really have true flex fuel built in. I'm not sure how others are doing it but in our packages it looks like the screenshot below. You won't have the same functionality in the GP package but you should at least be able to setup a sensor in the same way to get some channels working at the very least.
Attachments
Flex.jpg
Flex.jpg (267.06 KiB) Viewed 15583 times
Ben-S
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 11:39 pm

Re: M150 with flex fuel sensor measuring fuel temp

Postby 01-0041 on Wed Jan 06, 2016 4:37 am

Ben-S wrote:
Could someone post a screen shot of their Flex Fuel Sensor setup? I'm having difficulty locating it in the July 2015 "GP" package.

-

Trever


I don't believe any of the supplied packages really have true flex fuel built in. I'm not sure how others are doing it but in our packages it looks like the screenshot below. You won't have the same functionality in the GP package but you should at least be able to setup a sensor in the same way to get some channels working at the very least.


Thank you for your help!
01-0041
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 8:04 am
Location: Pacific Northwest

Re: M150 with flex fuel sensor measuring fuel temp

Postby JD86 on Thu Mar 03, 2016 9:24 pm

Hey guys,
Trying to sort an issue with my car not directly related to flex fuel tuning. I need to monitor my fuel temps though so I've plumbed a continental flex fuel sensor in to the fuel system (part number 13577379). Haven't wired it into the ECU as yet.
Does anyone have calibration file for the continental sensors? ALso if anyone is able to direct me on wiring it into an M1 that would be greatly appreciated. I actually don't need the ECU to read ethanol content just yet (although that would be nice), just need it as a fuel temp sensor for now. Thanks for your help.
JD86
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 6:01 pm

Re: M150 with flex fuel sensor measuring fuel temp

Postby Ben-S on Fri Mar 04, 2016 3:55 am

Can you post a screen shot of your fuel temp setup for your package? If it's easier go to the all calibrate tab and search "fuel temp" and expand it all and screen shot that.

It might not be possible to use that type of sensor for fuel temp without a Development License. Most packages are probably setup for a typical thermistor type sensor.
Ben-S
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 11:39 pm

Next

Return to M1 ECUs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests