M130 G sensor

Discussion and Support for MoTeC's M1 series ECUs

M130 G sensor

Postby greenamex2 on Wed Apr 28, 2021 6:10 pm

Hi all

Is it possible to convert the X/Y/Z M130 acceleration sensor figures in i2 to normal G units?

Thanks in advance
Motec CDL3+M130+LTCD+MDD+PDM15+PDM16M
Nissan VQ30DE fitted to an AM Sportscars EX2 with a Hewland HP 2000
greenamex2
 
Posts: 293
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 6:06 am
Location: England

Re: M130 G sensor

Postby SDean on Thu Apr 29, 2021 11:14 am

Hi,

In the M1 Package, what do you have the ECU Acceleration channel units set to? The default values are G, and the log files will log the files in the same units as the channels are set to.

In i2, if you click on the channel and either right click to select channel properties or use the keyboard shortcut (Ctrl+N) you have the option to change the units that the data is displayed in.
Stephen Dean
MoTeC Research Centre Melbourne, Australia
User avatar
SDean
Site Admin
 
Posts: 972
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 9:29 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: M130 G sensor

Postby greenamex2 on Fri Apr 30, 2021 4:14 am

Probably better to show my problem -

Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (147.72 KiB) Viewed 1603 times


Capture1.JPG
Capture1.JPG (32.59 KiB) Viewed 1603 times
Motec CDL3+M130+LTCD+MDD+PDM15+PDM16M
Nissan VQ30DE fitted to an AM Sportscars EX2 with a Hewland HP 2000
greenamex2
 
Posts: 293
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 6:06 am
Location: England

Re: M130 G sensor

Postby SDean on Fri Apr 30, 2021 8:49 am

That is the voltage range that I would expect to see, and also matches mine for the X Voltage when it is sitting on my desk.

Use the Q function on the Voltage Offset, this shouldn't be at 0.00V.
Stephen Dean
MoTeC Research Centre Melbourne, Australia
User avatar
SDean
Site Admin
 
Posts: 972
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 9:29 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: M130 G sensor

Postby greenamex2 on Fri Apr 30, 2021 5:51 pm

Thanks Stephen, that is my lunch break job sorted out!

By the way...love the new "UTC time clock" feature in i2. That solves a major issue for me in every data logging product I have had (I am hopeless at downloading in a timely fashion!).
Motec CDL3+M130+LTCD+MDD+PDM15+PDM16M
Nissan VQ30DE fitted to an AM Sportscars EX2 with a Hewland HP 2000
greenamex2
 
Posts: 293
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 6:06 am
Location: England

Re: M130 G sensor

Postby greenamex2 on Fri Apr 30, 2021 9:45 pm

Sorted, thanks.

Out of interest, how does the M130 G sensor compare to the CDL3 G sensor?
Is it still worth sending the CDL3 acceleration data to the CDL3?
Motec CDL3+M130+LTCD+MDD+PDM15+PDM16M
Nissan VQ30DE fitted to an AM Sportscars EX2 with a Hewland HP 2000
greenamex2
 
Posts: 293
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 6:06 am
Location: England

Re: M130 G sensor

Postby SDean on Mon May 03, 2021 9:45 am

Hi,

From overlaying the M1, C125, C187 and external G Sensor data that I have from my car, they are all showing the same data, within the errors bands for each. The external G sensor has a higher update rate, but this can just result in requiring more filtering
Stephen Dean
MoTeC Research Centre Melbourne, Australia
User avatar
SDean
Site Admin
 
Posts: 972
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 9:29 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: M130 G sensor

Postby greenamex2 on Mon May 03, 2021 5:04 pm

Cheers Stephen. If things get a bit busy on the CAN bus front I'll drop the CDL3 acceleration transmission.
Motec CDL3+M130+LTCD+MDD+PDM15+PDM16M
Nissan VQ30DE fitted to an AM Sportscars EX2 with a Hewland HP 2000
greenamex2
 
Posts: 293
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 6:06 am
Location: England


Return to M1 ECUs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AlanB and 5 guests