M150 / C127 boost map

Discussion and Support for MoTeC's M1 series ECUs

M150 / C127 boost map

Postby skyline_guru_stu on Thu Sep 02, 2021 7:41 pm

Hi, Ive a M150, 5 button rotary dial and C127 dash.
We've successfully set up all of these, but have come across a curly one. We have 3 boost maps working using the dial, but I've been unable to display these correctly on our dash. Am able to read the dial postition by reading the dial counts, this is where the trouble starts.

As we've 3 maps, the dial position counter can read past the upper maximum if the driver rotates too far.
Maps stay at setting 3, though the count read on the dash can increment both positive and negative.

Is the ECU's boost limit index transmitted over CAN?
If so, what's needed to setup the dash properly, as I'm unable to find this in any of the pre-configured templates provided?

Thanks, Stu
skyline_guru_stu
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 31, 2018 10:19 pm

Re: M150 / C127 boost map

Postby David Ferguson on Fri Sep 03, 2021 1:04 am

I think you will need to share your M1 package and C127 config to get any useful help. Most M1 Firmware does send the position of the Driver Rotary Switches which are usually used as inputs into tables like boost limit, but not being sure how your configuration is actually working makes it hard to guess.
David Ferguson
Veracity Racing Data
Check out Shift RPM - https://shiftrpm.veracitydata.com
David Ferguson
Pro User
 
Posts: 999
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 1:45 am
Location: Paso Robles, California

Re: M150 / C127 boost map

Postby NathanB on Fri Sep 03, 2021 9:11 am

As David has covered, it depends on how it is setup, as there are many ways to achieve this.

- If the Driver boost limit is assigned to a driver switch, the driver switch position can be seen in the 0x650 template.

You could use the enumeration manager to allow text to be substituted for the channel values.

- If the rotary dial is only used for boost level, you could also have it set up in the dash and assigned to a counter where you can define the minimum and maximum values, a rollover value at the maximum value, and then transmit the counter output to the ECU and use that for your rotary controller.

The flexibility of the system means there is more than one way your desired output can be achieved.
NathanB
MoTeC
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2020 12:50 pm


Return to M1 ECUs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests