One sensor for two loggers

information about how to make an ECU (MoTeC or non MoTeC) work with a MoTeC dash or data logger

One sensor for two loggers

Postby FoxSTI on Mon Sep 19, 2016 4:57 am

Sorry if this is not the right place to ask this.
Here is what I want to do: I want to install a fuel pressure sensor on the car that will display on my C125. (not problem there), at the same time i want that same reading from the sensor to be fed into another device. Physically I can make a mini harness with a T that split into the two devices. But twill this work in providing the two readings?

Here is the specific example:
http://www.cobbtuning.com/products/fuel ... -2008-2017

This pressure sensor will connect back tot he car's ECU. I want to tap a wire into the C125 as opposed to installed a second sensor. the 5V and Ground will be provided by the OEM car's wiring.
FoxSTI
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2016 12:00 pm

Re: One sensor for two loggers

Postby SDean on Mon Sep 19, 2016 1:55 pm

What ECU is in the car? The best way to do it would be to install the FP sensor into the ECU, and then CAN the data across to the dash. Using the same signal split like that leaves the possibility of erroneous values being reported, and depending on what the ECU is using the sensor data for, potential engine damage.
Stephen Dean
MoTeC Research Centre Melbourne, Australia
User avatar
SDean
Site Admin
 
Posts: 746
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 9:29 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: One sensor for two loggers

Postby FoxSTI on Mon Sep 19, 2016 2:00 pm

Its the stock ECU.
Thank you. I was afraid that was the answer. Is it possible to connect my C125 to the cars CAN with a stock ECU?
FoxSTI
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2016 12:00 pm

Re: One sensor for two loggers

Postby stevieturbo on Tue Sep 20, 2016 2:54 am

There should not be any issue sending a 0-5v signal to another device.

But what is this mystery "other device" ?
[url=https://ohne-rezeptkaufen.de/]https://ohne-rezeptkaufen.de/[/url]
stevieturbo
 
Posts: 482
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2008 2:32 am

Re: One sensor for two loggers

Postby FoxSTI on Tue Sep 20, 2016 12:33 pm

its just a factory open port on the ECU that is repurposed to read a value. The kit above allow you to run 93 and E85 with different maps selected by the car depending on what it senses. Don't ask me more about this it works, =) that is all I know.
FoxSTI
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2016 12:00 pm


Return to ECU to Dash Comms

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest