Page 1 of 1

C125 GPS Speed not working

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 5:39 pm
by Tom H
Hi
I have a GPS-L10 connected through the CAN to my C125. I checked the setting and baud rate, and both are as per the user manual ie "GPS = Standard RMC GGA" and 38400
The light flashes on the GPS unit but no speed display on the C125
How can I make sure it is a L10 not a L5?
What areas/items can I check?
Thanks
Tom Melbourne Australia

Re: C125 GPS Speed not working

PostPosted: Tue Apr 30, 2019 8:54 am
by SDean
Hi Tom,

The label on the connector will say if it is an L-10 or an L-05.

What connector do you have the GPS plugged into? These GPS antenna communicate with the dash over serial not CAN. The RS232Tx pin (Pin 2 in the DTM4 connector) on the antenna should be wired into pin 25 on the C125 (RS232Rx-2) from your configuration. The GPS also needs to have 5V+ supplied to it, and not VBatt+.

Re: C125 GPS Speed not working

PostPosted: Sun Jul 21, 2019 6:07 pm
by Tom H
Thanks for the reply. The GPS unit is a L-10
I have attached a few photos, the label on the unit, the connector and the label on the connector.
what to check next?

Re: C125 GPS Speed not working

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2019 8:33 am
by adrian
If the light is flashing then it means that it has a GPS fix and is working correctly.

If you monitor channels in the Dash, check the channel 'Comms RS232 Diag'. If the value is 512 it means the Dash isn't getting any data and you have the Rx/Tx wires wired incorrectly. Make sure Pin 2 in the GPS connector is wired to pin 25 in the Dash.