Page 1 of 1

Launch Aim RPM Canbus

PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2019 7:15 pm
by z0mgchris
Hi Guys,

I've spent some of the afternoon poking around trying to get this right. The ECU (M130 GPR) is registering the Launch Engine RPM changing, however it seems the address that was given in a fairly extensive M1 canbus document, doesnt match. Can anyone confirm or tell me what address is required for the C12x(c125 in this case) to read Launch Engine RPM or Launch Aim RPM (same same).

I'm not exactly "super familiar" with finding canbus addresses that are not defined already so any input on where to start or what would make working this out, would be much appreciated!

Thanks in advance,

Chris

Re: Launch Aim RPM Canbus

PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2019 7:56 am
by SDean
Hi Chris,

Which M1 Package and Version are you using? There have been some changes in the CAN Messaging out of the M1 in the later releases that required the Dash CAN templates to be updated. These are available in the latest releases of the Dash Managers and are marked as Version 5.

Re: Launch Aim RPM Canbus

PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2019 9:50 am
by z0mgchris
Hi Stephen!

Latest build GPR 1.10.0075 ( I actually mentioned the drag package not being updated yet on emails to you last week ish while we were talking about the 4g63 trigger issues)


Can template: 0x650 Version 5, which I added the final channel to after finding it in the m1 can dbc that was posted up on these forums a while ago (Though I just realised, it's Version 4, not version 5). I've since pulled open the GPR Build package and can see that, the launch aim rpm / launch engine speed channels are not generated under 0x65F. Though my build version is potentially outdated (You emailed it to me a few months ago for tinkering / learning purposes)

Re: Launch Aim RPM Canbus

PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2019 12:01 pm
by SDean
Hi Chris,

Just looking through the code and Launch Aim Engine Speed isn't transmitted in any of the templates so it would need to be added into the code in M1 Build if you have a Dev license.

Re: Launch Aim RPM Canbus

PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2019 12:45 pm
by z0mgchris
Thanks Stephen,

That's what I thought after having a look through the build for GPR. I dont currently own a dev license. You said last week on emails that theres some changes coming to the GP packages, so hopefully this will be back on board as well! I might need to turn the number of lights down and print out a basic run down of the RPM points until the update.

if it was on a rotary dial it wouldnt be so bad, however I'm using a keypad button to set the launch aim rpm.

again, thanks for the time taken to clarify this :)

Re: Launch Aim RPM Canbus

PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2019 1:15 pm
by SDean
Engine Speed Limit does come across and could be used.

Re: Launch Aim RPM Canbus

PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2019 1:17 pm
by z0mgchris
From testing yesterday, Engine speed limit isnt updated if the Engine is limited from coolant temp. however I will experiment by setting that to a flat 7500rpm and triggering the launch control switch as well as updating the launch rpm via button.

Thanks again Stephen!