turbo speed set up on C125 dash

D153, D175, C125, C127, C185 and C187 forum

turbo speed set up on C125 dash

Postby Racer2be on Sat Apr 11, 2020 1:39 pm

Hi
I have a C125 dash with a E888 connected thru can.
I am putting a turbo speed sensor on the dig2 of the E888 can some one tell me what the settings should be for the sensor?
I am using the Borg Warner sensor witch is 8/1 i believe my turbo has 13 blades
Racer2be
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 7:01 am

Re: turbo speed set up on C125 dash

Postby Racer2be on Tue Apr 14, 2020 8:19 am

Can anyone answer this?
Racer2be
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 7:01 am

Re: turbo speed set up on C125 dash

Postby z0mgchris on Tue Apr 14, 2020 9:54 am

Pretty easy to be honest

Dash manager > connections > "edit" > "add" E888. Go to the Dig2. "channel" set it to turbocharger speed or turbo speed. Click Change Cal..... "pulses per revolution" = number of blades.
z0mgchris
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2018 4:30 pm
Location: Townsville, QLD

Re: turbo speed set up on C125 dash

Postby David Ferguson on Tue Apr 14, 2020 10:39 am

So your sensor will produce 13 / 8 = 1.625 pulses per revolution.

At 100000 RPM, this would be 1.625 x 100000 / 60 (seconds / min) = 2708 pulses per second (known as hz).

So, add your E888 to the Devices, then select the Turbo Speed channel for the digital input that it is connected to. You will need to create a custom calibration since there aren't an integer number of pulses per revolution. The table will have 0hz / 0 RPM, and 2708hz / 100000 RPM.

Here is a calibration you can use. Just select Load..., then use Import... to bring it into your list of calibrations.
Attachments
BorgWarner 13blade-divide8 sensor.zip
(274 Bytes) Downloaded 81 times
David Ferguson
Veracity Racing Data
Check out Shift RPM - https://shiftrpm.veracitydata.com
David Ferguson
Pro User
 
Posts: 800
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 1:45 am
Location: Paso Robles, California

Re: turbo speed set up on C125 dash

Postby Racer2be on Tue Apr 14, 2020 1:14 pm

David Ferguson wrote:So your sensor will produce 13 / 8 = 1.625 pulses per revolution.

At 100000 RPM, this would be 1.625 x 100000 / 60 (seconds / min) = 2708 pulses per second (known as hz).

So, add your E888 to the Devices, then select the Turbo Speed channel for the digital input that it is connected to. You will need to create a custom calibration since there aren't an integer number of pulses per revolution. The table will have 0hz / 0 RPM, and 2708hz / 100000 RPM.

Here is a calibration you can use. Just select Load..., then use Import... to bring it into your list of calibrations.

Thank you David
i will try this and get back to you with an answer.
Racer2be
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 7:01 am

Re: turbo speed set up on C125 dash

Postby Racer2be on Wed Apr 15, 2020 11:15 pm

David Ferguson wrote:So your sensor will produce 13 / 8 = 1.625 pulses per revolution.

At 100000 RPM, this would be 1.625 x 100000 / 60 (seconds / min) = 2708 pulses per second (known as hz).

So, add your E888 to the Devices, then select the Turbo Speed channel for the digital input that it is connected to. You will need to create a custom calibration since there aren't an integer number of pulses per revolution. The table will have 0hz / 0 RPM, and 2708hz / 100000 RPM.

Here is a calibration you can use. Just select Load..., then use Import... to bring it into your list of calibrations.

tried this yesterday and it worked perfect.
thank you once again
Racer2be
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 7:01 am

Re: turbo speed set up on C125 dash

Postby David Ferguson on Thu Apr 16, 2020 1:47 am

Thanks for following up!
David Ferguson
Veracity Racing Data
Check out Shift RPM - https://shiftrpm.veracitydata.com
David Ferguson
Pro User
 
Posts: 800
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 1:45 am
Location: Paso Robles, California


Return to Colour displays

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron