Display Evo 9 MDC on C127

D153, D175, C125, C127, C185 and C187 forum

Display Evo 9 MDC on C127

Postby Loqy on Sat Jun 25, 2022 12:23 am

Hi everyone,

I would like to show MDC Mode from Evo 9 MDC on C127 on the bottom line of the display.

I have already chosen 'MDC Mode' channel the channel.
Unfortunately, it's not working while I push the MDC button on the dash.
On C127 monitor channel also there is nothing change when I push the MDC button.

Did I miss something ?

Any help will be highly appreciate.

Loqy
Loqy
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 12:32 am
Location: Jakarta - Indonesia

Re: Display Evo 9 MDC on C127

Postby NathanB on Sun Jun 26, 2022 3:49 pm

Have you connected the MDC unit to the C127 via CAN?

The templates found in C127 dash manager are used when one of the C127 CAN buses are connected to the CAN connection of the MDC. This connection is made via the comms cable that the UTC is plugged into for programming the MDC. You can splice into the CAN Hi and CAN Lo in this cable to connect the MDC unit to the C127.

MDC CAN comms.jpg
MDC CAN comms.jpg (171.55 KiB) Viewed 922 times


Without this wiring done, there is no way to utilise the MDC templates from Dash Manager.

Also keep in mind that unless you have Display Creator, your modes will only show 0-5. The only way to enumerate those modes will be through the use of alarms.
NathanB
MoTeC
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2020 12:50 pm

Re: Display Evo 9 MDC on C127

Postby Loqy on Sun Jun 26, 2022 5:53 pm

Hi Nathan,

Thank you for your reply.

Sure, I'm connected with CAN, I don't know any other method to connect without using CAN.
The car uses a sequential gearbox and the Gear display also working properly.
I don't have Display Creator options, I understand that I'm only able to show 0 to 5 at the display.
I also try with the Alarm but still not showing.

Any advice will be highly appreciate.
Loqy
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 12:32 am
Location: Jakarta - Indonesia

Re: Display Evo 9 MDC on C127

Postby MikeD on Sun Jun 26, 2022 9:22 pm

Hi Loqy,
the fact that you receive the gear value doesn't mean anything in the actual case because this isn't transmitted by the MDC but rather from an ecu most likely. (btw the MDC also has serial comms and not just CAN, but in your case you need the CAN)

So can you confirm to which physical CAN pins of the C127 do you have connected the MDC CAN wires (the ones from the XLR connector)?
It might help if you could come up with a sketch of how the CAN devices in your car are connected together and information where the CAN termination resistors on those CAN lines are located.

Can you also upload the C127 config that you have in use right now?

In addition you can also use the CAN inspector utility from MoTeC (C:\program files(x86)\MoTeC\Utilities\caninspector.exe) to take a snapshot of the raw CAN communication and attach it here as well. (You might do this for both CAN 1 or 2 by choosing the approriate Gateway-settings with the tool).

If you don't know some of the stuff above then don't come back with assumptions but rather let us know where you are stuck and we go from there step by step.

kind regards,
Mike
MikeD
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2019 4:45 am

Re: Display Evo 9 MDC on C127

Postby Loqy on Mon Jun 27, 2022 5:04 pm

Hi Mike,

Thank you for your reply, I really appreciate it.

The C127 installed with Race Logging Kit, for the CAN pins at 26 & 27.

From the ecu side, I spliced cable from the comms cable to the UTC.
According to the C127 manual, Race Loom Terminated Wiring is already installed with a 100R resistor.
I also attached my diagram.

I'm not able to test the CAN inspector in the car now, I'm still in self-quarantine due to Covid 19
Attachments
CAN UTC to C127.jpeg
CAN UTC to C127.jpeg (121.16 KiB) Viewed 880 times
Evo 9 Pak Yassin 1.c127v64
(1.34 MiB) Downloaded 37 times
Loqy
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 12:32 am
Location: Jakarta - Indonesia

Re: Display Evo 9 MDC on C127

Postby MikeD on Tue Jun 28, 2022 2:33 am

Hi once more,
your schematic doesn't show the MDC at all...?

I assume you have the CAN wires of the MDC connected to the same CAN as the M800, the ones you connected to C127 Pin 26 & 27?!
If that's the case then the reason why you don't receive any CAN data from the MDC is because you have configured the MDC CAN messages on CAN1 of the C127, but pins 26 + 27 is CAN 2 (the same where you have the M800 CAN messages configured).
So delete the two MDC CAN messages from CAN 1 and select/add them within the "CAN 2" tab.

Regards,
Mike
MikeD
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2019 4:45 am


Return to Colour displays

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests