CDL3 Dash vs. Megasquirt 1 ECU

information about how to make an ECU (MoTeC or non MoTeC) work with a MoTeC dash or data logger

CDL3 Dash vs. Megasquirt 1 ECU

Postby ProBike on Fri Sep 29, 2017 4:35 pm

Is it possible to get the CDL3 dashboard to communicate with Megasquirt Ms1 ECU?
Or should it be Ms2, who has canbus ??
Ps: Ms1 and Ms2 have RS232 seriel port.
Best regards Henrik Rs.
ProBike
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 10:44 pm

Re: CDL3 Dash vs. Megasquirt 1 ECU

Postby adrian on Mon Oct 02, 2017 9:02 am

Hi,

Unfortunately the CDL3 does not support the MS1 RS232 communications protocol.

The CAN configuration in any of our current dashes (including the CDL3) is extremely configurable, you will be able to set it up to read the CAN communications from a MS2 reasonably easily.

Adrian
adrian
MoTeC
 
Posts: 592
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 4:16 pm

Re: CDL3 Dash vs. Megasquirt 1 ECU

Postby ProBike on Mon Oct 02, 2017 7:03 pm

adrian wrote:Hi,

Unfortunately the CDL3 does not support the MS1 RS232 communications protocol.

The CAN configuration in any of our current dashes (including the CDL3) is extremely configurable, you will be able to set it up to read the CAN communications from a MS2 reasonably easily.

Adrian


Hey
Many thanks for the reply.
Then we have to install a Ms2 cpu :-) to get the canbus solution.

Should we also have: CAN ECU to Display Loom (Part No: # 61198)
to make it Work, or can we use the RS232 cable (Part No: # 61199) ?

Do you have a form of guide, to install CDL3 software up to the Ms2 CPU ?
ProBike
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 10:44 pm

Re: CDL3 Dash vs. Megasquirt 1 ECU

Postby adrian on Tue Oct 03, 2017 10:22 am

Neither of those two looms are really suitable for what you require. All you need is two wires twisted together with terminating resistors at each end. If you have a look at the CDL3 User Manual it has example wiring diagrams of how to wire a CAN bus.

In terms of setting up the CDL3, if you can get information on how the CAN is formatted out of the MS2 I can show you how to set it up.
adrian
MoTeC
 
Posts: 592
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 4:16 pm

Re: CDL3 Dash vs. Megasquirt 1 ECU

Postby ProBike on Wed Oct 25, 2017 11:06 pm

Hello.
Then I finally upgraded my ECU, from Ms1 to Ms2, which supports the CAN bus.
But can not get CDL3 to talk to Ms2 ECU, can not even see it under connection settings :-(
Some good suggestions, possibly a boot file for CDL3?
ProBike
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 10:44 pm

Re: CDL3 Dash vs. Megasquirt 1 ECU

Postby David Ferguson on Thu Oct 26, 2017 10:11 am

You should be using 11 bit CAN support (MS2/Extra 3.4.x). This document tells you how to setup the MS2 and has the information needed to create a CAN Comms Template for the CDL3 (note the 500 kb/s bus speed).

http://www.msextra.com/doc/pdf/Megasqui ... adcast.pdf

and there is a DBC file if Adrian has a converter...

http://www.msextra.com/doc/pdf/Megasqui ... -10-27.dbc
David Ferguson
Veracity Racing Data
Check out Shift RPM - https://shiftrpm.veracitydata.com
David Ferguson
Pro User
 
Posts: 809
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 1:45 am
Location: Paso Robles, California

Re: CDL3 Dash vs. Megasquirt 1 ECU

Postby ProBike on Thu Oct 26, 2017 4:22 pm

Thank you for the answer David :-)
Keep it up, it looks intricate, in my sense :shock:
Hope Adrian understands more of it, than I do :?:
ProBike
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 10:44 pm

Re: CDL3 Dash vs. Megasquirt 1 ECU

Postby adrian on Fri Oct 27, 2017 3:53 pm

If you take a look at the PDF David posted it has a list of all the available channels on the bus. If you let me know which ones you actually want I can show you how to set them up in the Dash.

Unfortunately there isn't any way to import the DBC file directly into CDL3 Manager so it will have to be done manually.
adrian
MoTeC
 
Posts: 592
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 4:16 pm


Return to ECU to Dash Comms

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron