LTC CAN Timeout

Discussion and support for the MoTeC PLM and LTC's

LTC CAN Timeout

Postby rayhall on Wed Oct 17, 2018 11:13 am

Hello,

I have one LTC NTK on one bank of the engine. The NTC is setup for 500 k/bits and address of 0x0640. The LTC is connected to CAN1 on the M1. CAN 1 is also set to 500 k/bits.

I get the message Exhaust Lambda Collector Timeout. Everything else on the bus is getting and sending data without a problem. I can only find Multi Exhaust Lambda in the setup menus. Cannot find Collector Exhaust Lambda.

What am I missing ?

Ray.
rayhall
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 6:54 am

Re: LTC CAN Timeout

Postby rntechnologies on Wed Oct 17, 2018 1:52 pm

In M1 tune, if you access the worksheet Initial Setup 2, you will have 2 different tabs; one called Lambda Single and another called Lambda Bank.
Can you tell me which of these you have currently configured?
IIRC there is a funny issue where there will be a timeout reported if you have used the bank configuration but only configured one bank. I'm not sure whether a more recent version of the GPR package has fixed this.
Below is how i configure the lambda setup for a Single LTC vehicle that i have found eliminates any warnings or errors within M1 tune.

Lambda Single:
Lambda 1.PNG
Lambda 1.PNG (17.92 KiB) Viewed 8815 times


Lambda Bank:
Lambda 2.PNG
Lambda 2.PNG (22.19 KiB) Viewed 8815 times
Regards,
Ryan
User avatar
rntechnologies
Pro User
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2018 8:45 am
Location: Australia

Re: LTC CAN Timeout

Postby rntechnologies on Wed Oct 17, 2018 2:00 pm

I should also add, further to this, have you got the LTC manager software installed on your machine?
If not, you should install this from the MoTeC website.
With this software, you can set the CAN bitrate of the device correctly (in your case change from 1Mb to 500kb) and also ensure that the latest firmware is applied to the device.
Regards,
Ryan
User avatar
rntechnologies
Pro User
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2018 8:45 am
Location: Australia

Re: LTC CAN Timeout

Postby rayhall on Wed Oct 17, 2018 3:23 pm

Hello Ryan,

Yes I have the LTC Manager software. That is how I changed the bit rate to 500 k/bits

Here are screen shots of settings you mentioned.

Ray.

LambdaSettings.png
Lambda Settings
LambdaSettings.png (24.9 KiB) Viewed 8807 times


LambdaSettings2.png
Lambda Bank Settings
LambdaSettings2.png (44.24 KiB) Viewed 8807 times
rayhall
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 6:54 am

Re: LTC CAN Timeout

Postby rntechnologies on Wed Oct 17, 2018 7:35 pm

I notice that you mentioned your device was an LTC-NTK, however in your configuration, you have specified LTC rather than LTCN.
Can you change this over to LTCN, as this is used in the initialisation of the LTC device from the ECU.
Regards,
Ryan
User avatar
rntechnologies
Pro User
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2018 8:45 am
Location: Australia

Re: LTC CAN Timeout

Postby rayhall on Thu Oct 18, 2018 7:30 am

Ryan,

I found the problem. It was a memory problem, caused by getting old. The power module was set to not power the NTC until over 500 rpm. As I have yet to start the engine it was never going to work.

Thank for your time.

Ray.
rayhall
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 6:54 am


Return to PLM & LTC

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests