C125 GPS Speed not working

D153, D175, C125, C127, C185 and C187 forum

C125 GPS Speed not working

Postby Tom H on Mon Apr 29, 2019 5:39 pm

Hi
I have a GPS-L10 connected through the CAN to my C125. I checked the setting and baud rate, and both are as per the user manual ie "GPS = Standard RMC GGA" and 38400
The light flashes on the GPS unit but no speed display on the C125
How can I make sure it is a L10 not a L5?
What areas/items can I check?
Thanks
Tom Melbourne Australia
Attachments
Tom Hutton 280419.c125v18
(823.63 KiB) Downloaded 206 times
Tom H
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun May 20, 2018 8:26 pm

Re: C125 GPS Speed not working

Postby SDean on Tue Apr 30, 2019 8:54 am

Hi Tom,

The label on the connector will say if it is an L-10 or an L-05.

What connector do you have the GPS plugged into? These GPS antenna communicate with the dash over serial not CAN. The RS232Tx pin (Pin 2 in the DTM4 connector) on the antenna should be wired into pin 25 on the C125 (RS232Rx-2) from your configuration. The GPS also needs to have 5V+ supplied to it, and not VBatt+.
Stephen Dean
MoTeC Research Centre Melbourne, Australia
User avatar
SDean
Site Admin
 
Posts: 752
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 9:29 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: C125 GPS Speed not working

Postby Tom H on Sun Jul 21, 2019 6:07 pm

Thanks for the reply. The GPS unit is a L-10
I have attached a few photos, the label on the unit, the connector and the label on the connector.
what to check next?
Attachments
20190721_174509.jpg
gps connector
20190721_174509.jpg (450.29 KiB) Viewed 3189 times
20190721_100452.jpg
label on gps unit
20190721_100452.jpg (691.95 KiB) Viewed 3189 times
20190721_174541.jpg
label on gps connector
20190721_174541.jpg (336.51 KiB) Viewed 3189 times
Tom H
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun May 20, 2018 8:26 pm

Re: C125 GPS Speed not working

Postby adrian on Mon Jul 22, 2019 8:33 am

If the light is flashing then it means that it has a GPS fix and is working correctly.

If you monitor channels in the Dash, check the channel 'Comms RS232 Diag'. If the value is 512 it means the Dash isn't getting any data and you have the Rx/Tx wires wired incorrectly. Make sure Pin 2 in the GPS connector is wired to pin 25 in the Dash.
adrian
MoTeC
 
Posts: 592
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 4:16 pm


Return to Colour displays

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests