Launch Aim RPM Canbus

D153, D175, C125, C127, C185 and C187 forum

Launch Aim RPM Canbus

Postby z0mgchris on Tue Oct 15, 2019 7:15 pm

Hi Guys,

I've spent some of the afternoon poking around trying to get this right. The ECU (M130 GPR) is registering the Launch Engine RPM changing, however it seems the address that was given in a fairly extensive M1 canbus document, doesnt match. Can anyone confirm or tell me what address is required for the C12x(c125 in this case) to read Launch Engine RPM or Launch Aim RPM (same same).

I'm not exactly "super familiar" with finding canbus addresses that are not defined already so any input on where to start or what would make working this out, would be much appreciated!

Thanks in advance,

Chris
Attachments
Launch Aim RPM.png
Launch Aim RPM.png (47 KiB) Viewed 2951 times
z0mgchris
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2018 4:30 pm
Location: Townsville, QLD

Re: Launch Aim RPM Canbus

Postby SDean on Wed Oct 16, 2019 7:56 am

Hi Chris,

Which M1 Package and Version are you using? There have been some changes in the CAN Messaging out of the M1 in the later releases that required the Dash CAN templates to be updated. These are available in the latest releases of the Dash Managers and are marked as Version 5.
Stephen Dean
MoTeC Research Centre Melbourne, Australia
User avatar
SDean
Site Admin
 
Posts: 756
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 9:29 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: Launch Aim RPM Canbus

Postby z0mgchris on Wed Oct 16, 2019 9:50 am

Hi Stephen!

Latest build GPR 1.10.0075 ( I actually mentioned the drag package not being updated yet on emails to you last week ish while we were talking about the 4g63 trigger issues)


Can template: 0x650 Version 5, which I added the final channel to after finding it in the m1 can dbc that was posted up on these forums a while ago (Though I just realised, it's Version 4, not version 5). I've since pulled open the GPR Build package and can see that, the launch aim rpm / launch engine speed channels are not generated under 0x65F. Though my build version is potentially outdated (You emailed it to me a few months ago for tinkering / learning purposes)
Attachments
M1 Build.png
M1 Build.png (48.23 KiB) Viewed 2929 times
z0mgchris
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2018 4:30 pm
Location: Townsville, QLD

Re: Launch Aim RPM Canbus

Postby SDean on Wed Oct 16, 2019 12:01 pm

Hi Chris,

Just looking through the code and Launch Aim Engine Speed isn't transmitted in any of the templates so it would need to be added into the code in M1 Build if you have a Dev license.
Stephen Dean
MoTeC Research Centre Melbourne, Australia
User avatar
SDean
Site Admin
 
Posts: 756
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 9:29 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: Launch Aim RPM Canbus

Postby z0mgchris on Wed Oct 16, 2019 12:45 pm

Thanks Stephen,

That's what I thought after having a look through the build for GPR. I dont currently own a dev license. You said last week on emails that theres some changes coming to the GP packages, so hopefully this will be back on board as well! I might need to turn the number of lights down and print out a basic run down of the RPM points until the update.

if it was on a rotary dial it wouldnt be so bad, however I'm using a keypad button to set the launch aim rpm.

again, thanks for the time taken to clarify this :)
z0mgchris
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2018 4:30 pm
Location: Townsville, QLD

Re: Launch Aim RPM Canbus

Postby SDean on Wed Oct 16, 2019 1:15 pm

Engine Speed Limit does come across and could be used.
Stephen Dean
MoTeC Research Centre Melbourne, Australia
User avatar
SDean
Site Admin
 
Posts: 756
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 9:29 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: Launch Aim RPM Canbus

Postby z0mgchris on Wed Oct 16, 2019 1:17 pm

From testing yesterday, Engine speed limit isnt updated if the Engine is limited from coolant temp. however I will experiment by setting that to a flat 7500rpm and triggering the launch control switch as well as updating the launch rpm via button.

Thanks again Stephen!
z0mgchris
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2018 4:30 pm
Location: Townsville, QLD


Return to Colour displays

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests