Tyre Pressure Monitering System (TPMS)

MoTeC supplied sensors, valves or wiring discussion

Tyre Pressure Monitering System (TPMS)

Postby Merlin on Tue Dec 28, 2010 12:01 pm

OK Guys

who is using what ??....any that I can Log into an ADL via CAN

I have seen the STACK system ....I not sure it would interface with MoTeC systems
It did seem expensive and its update rate was only 1 Hz..... I would like atleast 5 Hz ...but more like 10 Hz


or even better does MoTeC have a system in the pipeline ????


John P
Merlin
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 11:47 am

Re: Tyre Pressure Monitering System (TPMS)

Postby chelspeed on Fri Dec 31, 2010 6:52 pm

> its update rate was only 1 Hz..... I would like atleast 5 Hz ...but more like 10 Hz

How quickly are you expecting your tyres to go down? And what are you going to do about it in 0.1s that you can't do in 1s? I would have thought TPMS is one system that wouldn't need fast logging.

The stack system does say it has CAN outputs, you could presumably buy it wthout the display if you were going to use an ADL/SDL as a display. That should reduce the price a bit.

Very cheap system here but the sensors screw on the outside of the tyre valves and the monitor has no outputs.

This one has internal sensors and does temp too. Again unlikely to have any outputs on the monitor but it shows the internal sensors can be cheap.

Presumably all the wireless ones have batteries in the sensors so either need tyres off for new batteries or new sensors every year or so. Stack sensors are batteryless so presumably have much lower range so appear to need a separate pick up aerial next to each tyre.
chelspeed
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 6:17 pm

Re: Tyre Pressure Monitering System (TPMS)

Postby Holmz on Sun Jan 02, 2011 4:50 am

chelspeed wrote:> its update rate was only 1 Hz..... I would like atleast 5 Hz ...but more like 10 Hz

How quickly are you expecting your tyres to go down? And what are you going to do about it in 0.1s that you can't do in 1s? I would have thought TPMS is one system that wouldn't need fast logging.

The stack system does say it has CAN outputs, you could presumably buy it wthout the display if you were going to use an ADL/SDL as a display. That should reduce the price a bit.

Very cheap system here but the sensors screw on the outside of the tyre valves and the monitor has no outputs.

This one has internal sensors and does temp too. Again unlikely to have any outputs on the monitor but it shows the internal sensors can be cheap.

Presumably all the wireless ones have batteries in the sensors so either need tyres off for new batteries or new sensors every year or so. Stack sensors are batteryless so presumably have much lower range so appear to need a separate pick up aerial next to each tyre.


I think that the idea is to get one that allows outputting the data into a data logger, so that one can correlate the temp /pressure with the track.
1-Hz should be enough, but it needs some RS232 or CAN interface.
User avatar
Holmz
 
Posts: 521
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 5:19 pm
Location: Australia and the USoA

Re: Tyre Pressure Monitering System (TPMS)

Postby Merlin on Sun Jan 02, 2011 4:13 pm

chelspeed wrote:> its update rate was only 1 Hz..... I would like atleast 5 Hz ...but more like 10 Hz

How quickly are you expecting your tyres to go down? And what are you going to do about it in 0.1s that you can't do in 1s? I would have thought TPMS is one system that wouldn't need fast logging.

The stack system does say it has CAN outputs, you could presumably buy it wthout the display if you were going to use an ADL/SDL as a display. That should reduce the price a bit.

Very cheap system here but the sensors screw on the outside of the tyre valves and the monitor has no outputs.

This one has internal sensors and does temp too. Again unlikely to have any outputs on the monitor but it shows the internal sensors can be cheap.

Presumably all the wireless ones have batteries in the sensors so either need tyres off for new batteries or new sensors every year or so. Stack sensors are batteryless so presumably have much lower range so appear to need a separate pick up aerial next to each tyre.


As our cars are race use only cars ( Mazda RX7 S3) and we run on control Yokohama AO48 tyre
I am interested in logging the rate of pressure change and temp with different gasses used ....This is why 5 hrz min
If we can find a time gain on the first few laps as the tyres warm then we are harder to catch and pass
batterys are not an issue as our tyres are replaced every 2 race meeting ...approx 8 to 10 weeks

there must be a system that has can output beside the stack unit .....I just need to find it

John P
Merlin
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 11:47 am

Re: Tyre Pressure Monitering System (TPMS)

Postby Holmz on Mon Jan 03, 2011 2:48 am

Merlin wrote:...
there must be a system that has can output beside the stack unit .....I just need to find it

John P


John,

Do you have a link to the specific "Stack system" that you mention?
(1-Hz is more than fast enough for me, as I have ~0-Hz at the moment.)

I cannot imagine that there is a way to put energy into the tyre fast enough to require a higher rate than 1-Hz.
Doing a massive burnout requires the energy to go through the tread into the guts of the tyre.
Turning, and flexing the tyre, puts energy into the guts of the carcass.
But the tyre has a fair amount of thermal mass, so it would seem like it would be damped (or low pass filtered) to a large extent.
How can you put energy into the tyre quickly enough to require more than 1-Hz?

It is an interesting thought on the gases though...
Are you looking at different gases like helium with a high thermal conductivity?
Or a low thermal conductivity like Argon?
User avatar
Holmz
 
Posts: 521
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 5:19 pm
Location: Australia and the USoA

Re: Tyre Pressure Monitering System (TPMS)

Postby Sean on Tue Jan 04, 2011 8:38 am

Sean
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 11:35 am
Location: Adelaide or Auckland

Re: Tyre Pressure Monitering System (TPMS)

Postby NathanS on Wed Jan 12, 2011 7:29 am

There are a number of different systems that customers have used with our displays/dataloggers, Beru, Brightwater and Tire Watch are the ones that come to mind just now. These all transmit data via CAN and all have update rates of around 1hz.
If there are other systems that you find that you want to use let us know and we'll be able to create a CAN template for you to be able to receive the data.

http://www.bf1systems.com/products/tpms/TPMSDigiTyre.html
http://www.brightwater.co.uk/
http://www.tire-watch.com/
NathanS
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 7:37 am

Re: Tyre Pressure Monitering System (TPMS)

Postby Holmz on Thu Jan 13, 2011 8:15 am

Sean wrote:http://www.stackltd.com/tpms.html


On the "Pro" version datasheet, on page 1, it says:
"Specialist high sampling rate modes – up to 20Hz on bikes
or 40Hz on one wheel."

Is there anything special required to get this into a MoTeC datalogger (like a template etc...)?
User avatar
Holmz
 
Posts: 521
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 5:19 pm
Location: Australia and the USoA

Re: Tyre Pressure Monitering System (TPMS)

Postby Holmz on Fri Jan 28, 2011 2:00 pm

http://www.stackltd.com/pdf/data_sheets_2010/tpms_pro_datasheet.pdf
The download on page 6/9 show the CAN info.
Has anyone integrated one of these?

Page 5/9 shows up to 10-Hz for 4 wheels.
User avatar
Holmz
 
Posts: 521
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 5:19 pm
Location: Australia and the USoA

Re: Tyre Pressure Monitering System (TPMS)

Postby amariyavhrist on Tue May 29, 2018 8:38 pm

I have Ford Mondeo tyre sensors system. Tyre sensor systems are helpful for vehicles for avoiding many inconveniences.
amariyavhrist
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 9:11 pm
Location: Lincoln

Next

Return to Sensors, Valves and Wiring

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest